Cum Laude Induction Ceremony

By Nate Stein ’24

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 and was modeled after the Phi Beta Kappa
Society, the only change being that the Cum Laude Society was and still is for independent
secondary schools. The Society has 382 chapters, 362 of which are in the United States, and
around 4,000 students are inducted each year.

On Wednesday, April 23rd, nine of Woodberry’s sixth-formers and eleven of its fifth-
formers were inducted into the Cum Laude Society, joining the eleven current sixth-formers who were inducted last year as well as their fellow inductees.
The ceremony began with an introduction from Mr. Huber, Woodberry Forest’s senior
master and academic dean, in which he talked about the motto of the Society (“Areté, Diké,
Timé,” which translates roughly to “Excellence, Justice, Honor”). Next in the ceremony came the
actual induction. Inductees were given pins and certificates recognizing their many academic and
extracurricular accomplishments.
The final part of the ceremony was an address given by Episcopal High School’s current
headmaster and 1981 graduate of Woodberry Forest Mr. Charles Stillwell. In Dr. Hulsey’s brief
introduction, he talked about what had become the widespread question of why the headmaster
of EHS was giving an address at Woodberry’s Cum Laude Induction. His answer was interesting
and made sense: the idea of a healthy rivalry and its consistent ability to make each involved
party better. Dr. Hulsey noted that it also works both ways, that while EHS makes Woodberry
want to do better, so does Woodberry for EHS.
Mr. Stillwell’s actual address was fairly short but very substantive. He brought up topics
like the importance of lifelong learning, giving a staple Woodberry example: Mr. Huber. He went
on to talk about balancing work and pleasure in a variety of different scenarios. And lastly, he
reminded the student body to make the most of its time at Woodberry, a message that surely rang
true for all the boys in the audience but particularly those who graduate in May.
All in all, the Cum Laude Society induction ceremony was a success, and we are all very
happy for the many accomplishments of this year’s inductees.
Finally, many congratulations to this year’s Cum Laude Society inductees: Duncan
Connell (’22), Jimmy Dinh (’22), Turner Edwards (’22), Carter Harrell (’22), Reid Hood (’22),
Tut Linen (’22), Pen Oldham (’22), Reid Seck (’22), Monty Swafford (’22), Charlie Bell (’23),
Kenneth Kim (’23), Logan McNabb (’23), Aiden Moon (’23), Conwell Morris (’23), Gene Park
(’23), Zakhar Podolets (’23), Lewis Rand (’23), Edward Woltz (’23), Christian Yarbrough (’23),
and Jason Zhang (’23).

Categories: Today

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s